Director: Professor Paul Emery

LIRMM is dedicated to improving diagnosis, therapy, intervention and outcome across the spectrum of rheumatic and musculoskeletal medicine. It boasts a dynamic portfolio of research and education, delivering wide-ranging clinical, translational and basic research across five Sections:

Clinical Musculoskeletal Medicine – Section Head: Dr Maya Buch

Experimental Musculoskeletal Medicine – Section Head: Prof Dennis McGonagle

Clinical Biomechanics and Physical Medicine – Section Head: Prof Tony Redmond

Orthopaedics – Section Head: Prof Peter Giannoudis

Rehabilitation Medicine – Acting Section Head: Dr Rory O'Connor 


We also work in close partnership with the Leeds Teaching Hospitals Trust, particularly as a stretgic partner in the  Leeds NIHR Musculoskeletal Biomedical Research Unit (LMBRU), an NIHR funded centre of excellence for translational musculoskeletal research which strives to deliver excellence in patient based research.

Latest news

More news relating to Leeds Institute of Rheumatic and Musculoskeletal Medicine

Latest events

Small Group Teaching

This workshop covers techniques, approach, implementation, effectiveness and strategies to manage student behaviour in small group teaching. Starts at 1:30 pm.

More events relating to Leeds Institute of Rheumatic and Musculoskeletal Medicine